Luogo - Religious building

Chiesa di San Francesco all'Immacolata

Where Corso San Francesco, 1281, Comiso (Ragusa)

The origins of the building date back to Chiaramonte family, who in the fourteenth century they built a small temple dedicated to Saint Anthony, but the Church as we see it today is the work by Naselli family (Counts of Comiso 1453-1816). In the last century, the archaeologist Biagio Pace he completed the restoration of the building, giving the city an architectural gem that was classified "National Monument". Complex includes Church, Convent and Cloister and refers to the Catalan-Gothic style. Church, with a nave, has a facade with a simple portal flanked by two slender columns. Of note, Naselli's Chapel, a square base with a dome set on an octagon: Gaspare Naselli's marble mausoleum, by Antonio Gagini, is composed of a sarcophagus whose lid is placed on the statue of the sleeper surmounted by a panel depicting Madonna and Child.

Immagine descrittiva - c
Risparmia sul tuo hotel -

Potrebbero interessarti