City

Cetraro

Cetraro, (Cosenza)

Of ancient origins, Cetraro was probably the first maritime Bruzia city. There are several theories on its etymology: the most accepted approaches its name to abundant production of cedars and lemons (citrus from Latin and kitron from Greek) that, among other things, is a flourishing trade with Jewish communities using fragrant citrus for their religious rites. Old town winds through narrow streets, arches and picturesque views. Access to the city is by three gates: Sea Gate, Lower and Upper, monumental evidence of the time where village was fortified. Cetraro was donated by Sichelgaita Duchess, second wife of Robert Guiscard, to Benedictines of Montecassino, who ruled it until 1810. Cetraro experienced a period of great development after the Second World War, thanks to the presence of Faini textile factory, lapsed in more recent times. A few steps from Piazza del Popolo, is St. Benedict the Abbot’s Mother Church. Among the other places of worship it is to visit, enjoy hikes, Sanctuary of Madonna della Serra. Among the most loved and "functional" monuments, central fountain with the Statue of Seven Seas. Among the most characteristic events, Tournament of Districts, which takes place every July 10 and 11 on St. Benedict’s feas, and consists of a felt dispute between different districts, each of which parades with their own colors, costumes and banners. To affirm its tourist vocation, since 2009 the port was equipped with a dock with all facilities.