Chiesa di San Pietro
The St. Peter's Basilica was built outside the city walls, on Luco Mount, at the beginning of the fifth century, as a burial place for bishops. During the following centuries met several restoration projects, of which the most important was that, at the end of the twelfth century, the present facade structured with the splendid reliefs that make it one of the most beautiful in Umbria, and illustrating scenes from the Life the Saint and episodes from Medieval novella. The Basilica is accesible by a wide staircase seventeenth century and has a three naves with pillars supporting round arches. In 1329 it was burned by the Ghibellines during a fight town, and rebuilt in the following years. The interior was transformed in the late seventeenth century, according to the prevailing taste of the time: the Roman Baroque that characterizes the classroom finds its completion in the very elegant elliptical dome, unique in Umbria.