Polistena, (Reggio Calabria)
Polistena (Greek: Polyxene, Polysthene) is a comune (municipality) in the Province of Reggio Calabria in the Italian region Calabria, located about 70 kilometres (43 mi) southwest of Catanzaro and about 50 kilometres (31 mi) northeast of Reggio Calabria. As of 31 December 2004, it had a population of 11,488 and an area of 11.7 square kilometres (4.5 sq mi).Polistena borders the following municipalities: Anoia, Cinquefrondi, Cittanova, Melicucco, San Giorgio Morgeto.HistoryOf uncertain historical origins, Polistena is a territory inhabited since the time of prehistory. From the remains found, it appears to be the territory of transit of Locresi that reached the territory of Medma that had become their colony. During the period of control by the family Milano Franco D'Aragona, Polistena saw a flourishing period rich in historical monuments as the Palazzo Marchionale as well as numerous monasteries such as the Capuchin or Clarisse and the convent of friars Minimum. During the year 1783 Polistena was devastated by a violent earthquake that razed to the ground most of the city and killed more than 2000 people. Their corpses were placed under the floor of the town's churches. Thanks to Neapolitan architect, Pompey Schiantarelli, the city was rebuilt quickly creating an urban center from having characterized in the upper part of the city major palaces and noble houses birthplace of many artists like Francis Jerace.MonumentsPolistena presents the monument to the Fallen by Francesco Jerace site in Piazza del Popolo. Massive is the Palazzo Avati site in the same square. In its facade is a portal where there is a mask apotropaica.and moreDemographic evolutionNotable peoplePastFra' Girolamo MarafiotiGiacomo Francesco MilanoMichelangelo JeraceMichele Maria MilanoVincenzo MoraniMichele ValensiseGiovanni e Giuseppe SilipoFrancesco JeraceDomenico Maria ValensiseMarino TiganiMichelangelo RussoMichelangelo ParlatoLeonardo PrenestinoDomenico Rodinò ToscanoVincenzo RoverePasquale CalcaterraGiuseppe PesaDomenico FilipoFrancesco LaruffaNicola Rodinò ToscanoUgo BorgeseAntonio CannataRaffaele ValensiseFranco e Mario CommisPresentFerdinando AdornatoDario LaruffaMimmo CaloprestiGiuseppe NigliaMarina FormicaAntonio LirosiGiovanni PecoraGiacomo CacciatoreFranco AnileMommo TripodiMichelangelo TripodiVincenzo FuscoRaffaele ZurzoloAntonio FloccariFrancesco MallamaceAldo Vincenzo PecoraMichele TripodiReferences^ a b All demographics and other statistics from the Italian statistical institute (Istat)External