Val di Noto (Ragusa Ibla) - Città del Tardo Barocco c

Val di Noto - Le città Tardo Barocche (Sito UNESCO)

Piazza del Municipio, Noto, (Siracusa)

Following the earthquake of 1693 the major urban centers of Val di Noto, were reduced to rubble. The subsequent reconstruction, in the first decades of the eighteenth century, saw the cities devastated by the earthquake to adopt architectural and artistic solutions that represented a veritable flowering of Baroque and Late Sicilian Baroque taste. In 2002 "Late Baroque Towns of Val di Noto" were recognized as UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The eight cities are: Caltagirone, Militello in Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo Acreide, Ragusa and Scicli.